Who We Are

The Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center is supported by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and housed within the UNC Highway Safety Research Center in Chapel Hill, NC.

Core Team

Laura Sandt
Director
sandt@hsrc.unc.edu

Nancy Pullen-Seufert
Associate Director
pullen@hsrc.unc.edu

Dan Gelinne
Program Manager
gelinne@hsrc.unc.edu

Kristin Blank
Communications Manager
blank@hsrc.unc.edu

Krista Nordback
Senior Researcher
nordback@hsrc.unc.edu

Libby Thomas
Senior Researcher
libbyt@email.unc.edu

Kristen Brookshire
Research Associate
brookshire@hsrc.unc.edu

Seth LaJeunesse
Research Associate
lajeunesse@hsrc.unc.edu

Stephen Heiny
Research Associate
heiny@hsrc.unc.edu

Charlie Zegeer
Senior Technical Advisor
zegeer@hsrc.unc.edu

Lauren Marchetti
Senior Technical Advisor
marchetti@hsrc.unc.edu

 

Partners

Our core team is complemented by partners at Governors Highway Safety Association, Institute of Transportation Engineers, PeopleForBikes, Toole Design Group, and Virginia Tech Transportation Institute.

 

Additional Collaborators

PBIC regularly engages with a range of organizations to help advance shared missions. Examples of current and past collaborators include:

America Walks

American Planning Association

American Public Health Association

Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Environmental Health

Environmental Protection Agency

League of American Bicyclists

National Association of City Transportation Officials

National Center for State Legislators

Project for Public Spaces / National Center for Bicycling and Walking

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Safe Kids

US Access Board

Vision Zero Network

World Bank