TRB Pedestrian Committee Official Web Page

The Transportation Research Board Pedestrian Committee (TRB committee number ACH10 - formerly ANF10) is concerned with research on pedestrians and pedestrian facilities that will provide safe, comfortable, and efficient walking environments along sidewalks, along and across roadways, and connecting to other modes of transportation. The Committee addresses the planning, design, operation, and maintenance of roadways as they affect use of public rights-of-way by pedestrians. The Committee aims to integrate pedestrian considerations into broader transportation issues.

This Committee is chaired by Laura Sandt of the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill (

The Pedestrian Committee interacts and collaborates with a number of subcommittees:

Name Purpose Parent Committee Chair(s)
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Analysis To identify and advance research related to safety and/or bicycle and pedestrian crashes Safety Data, Research, and Analysis Shane Turner and Thomas Jonsson
Bicycle and Pedestrian Data To develop standardized national data structures that incorporate non-motorized users Highway Traffic Monitoring Sarah O'Brien
Emerging Vehicles for Low Speed Transportation To explore emerging technologies and their relationship to roadway users, including pedestrians and bicyclists Bicycle Chris Cherryand John MacArthur
Pedestrian Research To identify pedestrian research needs/topics and develop research needs statements; locate organizations to fund and conduct pedestrian research; and track previous, ongoing, and upcoming research Pedestrian Sirisha Kothuri and Nick Ferenchak
Pedestrian Papers To lead the paper review process and develop the pedestrian program at the Annual Meeting Pedestrian

Kevin Manaugh and Mike Cynecki

Automated Vehicles and Peds/Bikes To engage in conversations around AV, and identify research and policy issues. Pedestrian Amy Rosepiler and Justin Owens

These subcommittees report progress and findings during the general Pedestrian Committee meetings.

The website is maintained by Laura Sandt of the UNC Highway Safety Research Center. We invite suggestions for web page content; please email suggestions to Laura Sandt ( and/or Lauren Blackburn (

The information furnished on this website is strictly that of the Pedestrians Committee and its members, and is not endorsed by TRB/NRC. Any opinions, findings, or conclusions expressed on this web site are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Transportation Research Board or The National Academies.