Fiscal Year 2011 Update on the Nonmotorized Transportation Pilot Program


This March 2011 update summarizes some of the accomplishments of the four communities that are part of the Nonmotorized Transportation Pilot Program (NTPP). Section 1807 of the Safe, Accountable Flexible Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) P.L. 109-59 established the NTPP in August 2005. The legislation authorized $25 million for each of the NTPP's four pilot communities (Columbia, Missouri; Marin County, California; Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Sheboygan County, Wisconsin) "to construct... a network of nonmotorized transportation infrastructure facilities, including sidewalks, bicycle lanes, and pedestrian and bicycle trails, that connect directly with transit stations, schools, residences, businesses, recreation areas, and other community activity centers."

The purpose of NTPP is to "demonstrate the extent to which bicycling and walking can carry a significant part of the transportation load, and represent a major portion of the transportation solution, within selected communities." The United States Department of Transportation (DOT) is required to evaluate the program to determine how it increases the frequency of walking and bicycling trips. The challenges of fully delivering the program in the four-year timeline are significant. To be able to implement some of the critical capital projects and to collect valid pre- and post-data, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) plans to submit a final report to Congress in late 2011.

Back to Search Results